top of page

Altered paths

Please forgive the silence. It has been a very turbulent and curious time for the whole world and I didn't want to keep bombarding people with the exploits of a lockdown limited group of walking updates. So much for the annual Snowdon climb, plans for a few extra peaks and much more...in fact, so much for getting to Everest Base Camp in April. As much as it has pained me, we have had to re-arrange the trek.


BUT WE ARE STILL GOING!


October 2021 (some 6 months delayed) we are hoping vaccines, vectors, mutations and the likes will allow us to continue the trek we are so desperate to achieve. Plus, the bonus being Alexander will still be 12!


We all know how hard the last year has been and as is always my way I have just put my head down, ignored what I can of the world and just carried on without paying too much attention to anything. That's not necessarily the best way, I am well aware of that, but it is my way. We've continued to work on understanding the world that we find ourselves immersed in, and it's all continuing to teeter on the verge of the unknown.


I mentioned we are worms now and a few weeks ago my other son, Tobey, was formally welcomed into the genetic deletion family. Following his autism diagnosis towards the latter end of last year, we pressed for a genetics test and with the pandemic it was very much a waiting game.


You may not realise the weird feeling learning things like this. As I've mentioned before, the surprise of Alexander's diagnosis (followed by my own) was very much a kick where it hurt. A completely unexpected discovery, but you'd expect that to be a lessened worry or feeling when we had pressed for the test...you'd be very wrong!


Taking him to the hospital for the test was, in itself, a strange experience. That particular hospital has been fundamental in everything ranging from being where the boys were born (Clara being a home birth) but also where cancer was treated and where the detailed work of Alexander's diagnosis has been. Very much a strange place, shrouded with odd emotions and feelings. The other primary hospital in Nottingham is associated with Alexander being poorly in the first place, miscarriage and worst of all...work!


So, returning there for Tobey's blood test was a strange experience. Yay for the ability to operate like a Terminator devoid of feelings and emotions sometimes (and yes, that was a huge level of sarcasm as, again, I know that's a bad habit I have). With the Covid restrictions we followed a strange pattern of arrows around the outside of the building and spoke to the nurse through the window with the screening questions before we got in.


We were in and out in minutes, so it was kind of a rush that left little Tubs a bit confused. As we walked back to the car, he said, "I hope I am just like you and Alexander, I think I am." That hit me a bit harder than I think he will ever know. He wanted to feel "part of that world" and be different, but didn't realise the implications of what it meant. We all had a little bet, to play it down, and he was convinced he'd have the deletion and Alexander (secretly didn't want to share his X-Men powers) said he wouldn't.


Low and behold, just after Christmas the letter arrives and I recognised the paper and envelope. It was probably one of the few times I was in to pick up the mail and straight away I knew what it was. We'd fought for the test, so we could know, so why was I stood there holding the envelope in the hallway terrified to open the envelope? Peeling open the envelope I opened the letter and there it was, Tobey did indeed have the deletion...cue guilt flash (my fault, I gave it to him etc etc etc).


As for Tobey, he just gave me a huge hug and said "I told you so!" Such a simple gesture meant so much and yes, he is now part of the Timothy Syndrome / CACNA1C deletion family. And yes, he now declares himself as one of the X-Men.


On that note I think we're more like Deadpool's X-Force as opposed to the X-Men, they're a bit clean cut and we are, in reality, misfit superheros (and I'm of course the slightly camp, socially inept hero that makes it on sarcasm and hiding behind a mask...that's fitting).


What it means for Tobey? We are working on that and speaking with the team at Cardiff University they are looking at progressing some of the research via video conferencing so we can, I hope, get him as involved in the research as Alexander and I have been to this point. He's keen to become part of the family and part of the future, to help others understand what it all means if they find themselves thrown into the world of confusion and unknowns as we have been.


As for training, it's not stopped and we're now fully-fledged members of the Centr Community (even had shout outs from the trainers, which certainly motivates Alexander). We have to look at October as a reprieve to break the disjointed training regimen that has limited our time in the mountains. We still need to rack up some miles, but once lockdown lifts, the countryside will call and we will answer. Until then, we're adding miles, circuit training five times a week for Alexander (I'm on fourteen a week, i.e. twice a day because it keeps me as centred and stable in my head so has become something of a necessity).


Our adventure has caught attention in the Police federation magazine with a short article and Salomon (yes, the actual company) have given Alexander and I a brand new pair of boots each for the trek! We are so pleased with their support and will share our views on them once we get them on and get some hills beneath the soles.


For now, that's the update. Delayed but onwards and upwards. October will provide us with an amazing experience in the Himalayas and, hopefully, something of a foundation for Alexander's life. We will also be looking for Tobey's Base Camp, whatever that may be.


Here's to the world opening and future looking brighter for everyone.


bottom of page